Imagine Dragons Announce ‘Evolve’ Album And Release New Single ‘Whatever It Takes’

Imagine Dragons have now released two music videos from their upcoming third studio album, including “Believer” and “Thunder,” but fans of the 2017 iHeartRadio Much Music Video Award performers were still unsure as to when the band’s full record would drop. Thankfully, Imagine Dragons not only announced the album release date, title and track list this week, but they also debuted a new single. It’s time to start your countdown clocks.

Imagine Dragon’s third studio album Evolve is set to arrive on June 23, just days after they return to the iHeartRadio MMVA stage on Sunday, June 18. The band’s new album title was hinted at while promoting their second single “Thunder,” with the mirror image of the letter ‘E’ or ‘3E’ appearing on Imagine Dragon’s social media accounts.

The album artwork matches the band’s single artwork for “Believer,” with the image of a man being pulled upward into a beam of light in the retro 1980s sci fi-inspired setting.

Imagine Dragon’s Evolve, their first record since 2015’s Smoke + Mirrors, features 11 new tracks, including the singles “Believer” and “Thunder.” The disc is available now for pre-order, with vinyl options available, as well as t-shirt and hat add-ons.

1. I Don’t Know Why
2. Whatever It Takes
3. Believer
4. Walking The Wire
5. Rise Up
6. Make It Up To You
7. Yesterday;
8. Mouth of the River
9. Thunder
10. Start Over
11. Dancing In The Dark

To celebrate the new album, they’ve also released the track “Whatever It Takes,” which is available for download for fans who pre-order Evolve. Staying true to their mission to ‘evolve,’ the new single has lead singer Dan Reynolds showing off some impressive rapping skills, with the lines “Cause I love the adrenaline in my veins / I do whatever it takes / Cause I love how it feels when I break the chains” performed in rapid-fire delivery. Mashing up EDM and rock, “Whatever It Takes” is yet another example of Imagine Dragons broadening their sound and continuing to push the boundaries on arena anthems with exciting results.

Stream/purchase the Platinum-certified “Believer” now. Watch Imagine Dragons perform at the 2017 iHeartRadio MMVAs on Sunday, June 18 at 9E/6P.